Where have I been? Where am I going?

First of all, I hate writing about myself. That being said, I owe a huge debt to those who have helped me along the way to get to the point I am today, and to where I’ll be going in the near future; the least I could do is write a blog for them!

I suppose any great journey starts with an idea. An idea was planted in my head a long long time ago (in an airport not so far away) where I’d watch hundred ton giants take to the sky, a world where jet exhaust and the rumble of non-hushed-kitted 727s ruled. Yes, I was inspired, obsessed even, with this crazy thing the Wright brothers discovered over a century ago. So much so that at the age of five I decided that being a spectator the rest of my life wouldn’t cut it: I wanted to fly.

Delta 767

Over the years that idea grew into a dream, and at the ripe age of 14 I commanded an aircraft for the first time (a good year and a half before the slower and less stimulating automobile, mind you!). I went on to solo at the age of 16, received my pilot’s license at 17, and added the instrument rating at 20.

Over the fog

Unfortunately, dreams have a terrible tendency of becoming deferred or forgotten. That almost happened to my dream in college. If one thing could distract a young man from chasing a dream which demands discipline and commitment, it’s college. Now, for the sake of my own integrity I won’t get into specifics, but the dream was almost lost among the parties, lazy afternoons, and talk of a typical job in a nice cubical with fellow classmates.

I found my dream stowed away on a dusty shelf with the rest of my childhood. How did that dream come alive again? It’s an easy answer really: every time I look in the air and see the contrail of an airliner crossing over, I feel an indescribable urge to again join the lucky few who know the joy of flight. I think about the sad robots that report to the office every single day, sit in their depressing cubical, and do the same thing day in and day out. I wonder, how many people love what they do? I could never love that.

Find what you love to do in life, then figure out a way to get paid for it.

The answer for me was easy. I love to fly and I love to travel. I want my office to gaze upon sunsets at 35,000 feet, I want to see the world and get paid to do it, I want every day to be different and exciting. I’ve found my answer, and I hope (if you have managed to read this far without digressing to Facebook) that you can join me on this journey as I finish my flight training and achieve the dream that started from an idea a long time ago.


This blog is for the family and friends who support me, for the aspiring pilot looking for direction and inspiration, and to all the would be astronauts who decided blue sky looked better than black space.

~ by Marcus on August 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

